Addigy provides its partners with a unique ability to carefully prepare for major macOS upgrades. In our Public Software catalog, we publish items designed to block and suppress upgrades to new major versions of macOS. These upgrade blockers can serve as an important tool to give you the time you need to sufficiently vet major macOS upgrades before your users apply them.
Blocking Major OS Upgrades
The most recent version of these upgrade blockers is titled Block Install Mojave (10.14.4.1) and includes the following features.
- Addigy's proprietary utility prevents the Install macOS Mojave.app from running.
- When the install app is prevented, a badge notification is presented to the user to explain the occurrence.
- When the install app is prevented, an email or ticket is sent to the Addigy partner according to their ticketing integrations or support email settings.
- NEW - Any Install macOS Mojave.app found on the device will be removed when the software runs as part of the policy, about every thirty minutes.
- NEW - Badge notifications from Apple that prompt the user to upgrade will be supressed.
- NEW - Automatic download of macOS updates will be disabled.
- NEW - Automatic install of macOS updates will be disabled (except for critical updates).
Adding the Blocker to Your Policies
When you're ready to begin blocking a major OS upgrade, head over to the Policies page and select Software under the policy where you would like to block the upgrade.
Then, search in the Public Software section for the desired OS that you would like to block and select Add App. We always recommend using the most up-to-date versions of our blocking software!
Don't forget to go to Deploy Changes to confirm the addition to your policy. And, that's it! You're ready to start blocking a major upgrade from Addigy.
Removing the Blocker
When Block Install Mojave (10.14.4.1) is removed from a policy, it make take up to thirty minutes for the device to remove all the pieces of the blocker. To speed up the process, we recommend going to Policies -> Deploy Changes and selecting Deploy Now to force the policy to run immediately. When the blocker is removed, any lingering settings applied to macOS updates will not be reverted. Please reference the System Updates section of Predefined Commands to find some simple scripts for adjusting update settings back to their desired values.