With the release of Apple silicon (M1) devices, Apple has modified MDM permissions when enrolling a device outside of Apple Business Manager or Apple School Manager. When a device is enrolled via Enrollment Profile or BYOD, there will be a warning message posted within the Profiles pane of System Preferences. If a device is enrolled via Automated Device Enrollment, the warning box below will not appear as the device has a trusted chain of ownership. More information about this change can be found on Apple's Support site at Change startup disk security settings on a Mac with Apple silicon


The warning message below will only show on devices that meet the following criteria:

  • Big Sur 11.0 or newer
  • Apple silicon based Mac
  • Enrolled via Device Enrollment (.mobileconfig) or User Enrollment (BYOD)



Please note: this warning message only affects kernel extensions and software updates. All other management functions continue to work as expected as of the date this document was posted.


Allowing MDM to Manage Kernel Extensions and Software Updates

These instructions have been directly pulled from Change startup disk security settings on a Mac with Apple silicon on Apple's Support site. As of the publishing of the document, there is no way to remotely enable this functionality.

  1. On the Mac with Apple silicon, choose Apple menu  > Shut Down.

  2. Press and hold the power button until you see “Loading startup options.”

  3. Click Options, then click Continue.

    If requested, enter the password for an administrator account.

    Your Mac opens in Recovery mode.

  4. In macOS Recovery, choose Utilities > Startup Security Utility.

  5. Select the startup disk you want to use to set the security policy.

    If the disk is encrypted with FileVault, click Unlock, enter the password, then click Unlock.

  6. Click Security Policy.

  7. Review the following security options:

    • Full Security: Ensures that only your current OS, or signed operating system software currently trusted by Apple, can run. This mode requires a network connection at software installation time.

    • Reduced Security: Allows any version of signed operating system software ever trusted by Apple to run.

  8. If necessary, select Reduced Security, enter your administrator user name and password, then do one of the following:

    • Select the “Allow user management of kernel extensions from identified developers” checkbox to allow installation of software that uses legacy kernel extensions.

    • Select the “Allow remote management of kernel extensions and automatic software updates” checkbox to authorize remote management of legacy kernel extensions and software updates using an MDM solution.

  9. Click OK.

  10. Restart your Mac for the changes to take effect.


If you have an Addigy account and have additional questions, you can create a ticket by emailing support@addigy.com.

Alternatively, you can submit a support request within Addigy.