This article will cover a few best practices & considerations when deleting a device from Addigy.
Deleting a device
1. Select the Devices page in the navigation bar.
2. Expand the device options by selecting the arrow on the left.
3. Select Remove Device to open up a new modal.
4. Once clicked, the below window will show up.
Explanation of the options available
- Download Device Data (csv) will download a .csv file from Addigy that contains all of Addigy's records on this device. This option is a great way to save a copy of the device's state and FileVault keys before off-boarding the device.
- Delete Activation Lock Codes will only show if a device supports Activation Lock and has codes generated by Addigy. If selected, the codes will be deleted from Addigy and no longer be recoverable.
- Remove MDM Profile will unenroll the device from Addigy MDM and remove all Addigy-installed MDM Profiles from the device.
- Remove Completely will queue a command to the agent to delete itself and all associated Addigy files from the device. Software removal scripts will be run if they are configured for your Addigy software.
- The Remove MDM option only appears if the device is currently registered to Addigy MDM services.
- The 'Delete Activation Lock Codes' option only appears if a device qualifies for Activation Lock and had codes generated by Addigy.
Best practices and other considerations
- When a device is completely removed from Addigy, it will remove the following:
- Smart software payloads with a proper removal script. If the removal script does not work or is not intended to remove the app, then the app will not be removed
- Apple Apps (Apps & Books) assets
- MDM Profiles deployed via Addigy (including those deployed via Compliance)
- Self Service/MacManage
- Malwarebytes OneView/Threat Down (if configured and deployed via the integration) (macOS specific)
- Addigy Identity (macOS specific)
- All other Addigy agent files (macOS specific)
- These will not be removed when a device is deleted:
- Apps deployed from the Public Software Catalog (macOS specific)
- Smart software items that do not have a removal script (macOS specific)
- OS Users (macOS specific)
Remove Completely will unenroll the device from Addigy MDM as well as delete our agent. If the device is offline when removed, it will perform the removal as soon as it reconnects to Addigy servers.
- The commands to remove a device from Addigy never expire.
- Data, preferences, and applications on the device that were not managed by Addigy and do not have removal scripts in place will be unaffected.
Please be sure to test a removal to ensure you are familiar with what will and will not be deleted. The above may vary depending on your tenant.
If you would like to remove the Addigy agent from a device but do not have access to the Addigy portal, please have the Addigy account owner contact email@example.com.